Poets logo

Anonymous

Farewell, Zinfandel.

By Aiyan TurleyPublished 5 years ago 4 min read
Like

A walk and stroll can be as platonic and placid to some and yet, to others; it is a portal to restart something that shall stain my mind. The day was like any other day and it was the vague notions of how a mundane moment can be changed by someone purely from a stroll at the trail. It was only a week since we met in this borderline strange situation and somehow, your presence induces me to ponder about what the meaning of life truly entails.

As I paced around the stairs and thought about the silly idea of walking with someone whom I reside with but barely know entices me in an odd way. My eyes peered outside the streets and it was already past 3 PM and the gift of the sun shall be diminishing soon. After a couple of sips of Merlot and music marinations, I summed up the courage to ask you if you'd like to take a walk.

Along the silver lines of mere friendships and fringes of the yearning to actually spend a fraction of my time with someone who is the absolute opposite of my past experience. The minutes of getting ready was a bold understatement since it took barely 10 minutes for us to change and your eyes bright as the magnificent beam of excitement.

It was as if the transactions of the turbulence of my distress comes to a temporary end with a simple walk to the park. Nothing in the slimmest time during the car ride can invigorate such therapeutic when it comes to the resonance of the mind. At first glance, it was just the void in the air of being so close to someone not familiar yet at a comforting level. As boring as it may seem on the surface, it was a feeling I needed due to the overstimulation in my personal life.

Our mere conversations may be bare and bellowings of lingerings of small talk; still, it was genuine and humbling. This was the first time that I have simply strolled down a path of pavement and cold air and felt the warmth with someone that I hardly know deeply. Sometimes in our lives, it is the most unexpected encounters that we will soon reflect back when the time is right and to prominence the importance of companionships.

As the sun slowly creeps to his hiding place and we'd return back to the beginning of the trail, my sense of being was uplifted and without any sorts of adulterations of flirtations or pretense. Reasons and rhymes cannot explain how easy it was to expelled my feelings with you and it was purely refreshing even without any expectations.

The admirable thing about this time spent was the fact that a "coffee" is an actual coffee enjoyed together in an oddly placed platonic way with the opposite sex. In retrospect, it was adorable that you remembered how much I loved walking along the waters and hence the next destination to your workplace. Many would suspect that this can easily be a "date" or semi-romantic and etc.

However, it was as simple as exchanging time of our own and being in presence of mutual company when our emotions are in trouble. How little and magnificent can two strangers be during a fraction of time passed and nothing but at ease and energy exchanged could feel like? This was a refreshing first time of a night walk to a body of water I have never been to.

A tinge of lingering and laughing matter teases as we walked down the unfamiliar steps to your workplace. Marinating the tender effects of this pure nothingness and openness to your witty tone and connotations as my heart sighs with unadulterated peace. It has been some moons of eclipse since this whole platonic and palpitating companion of another person has induced me to feel such intense invigoration. To say the least, it was strangely satisfying to my soul.

My breath tries deeply to inhale every word that exit out from you and it soothed my cravings of loneliness from within. It was as if your voice took over the wheels and splattered both comfort and cardinals of joy from the sparks of your eyes. The whole time we spent almost quiet the reality of my own personal drama and your existence has imprinted me to smile inside, just for a night.

Never did the sky resembled so brightly as you pointed out the constellations and stars above us and my mind sighs with peace and triumphs of excitement. This was a fraction of my time that I earnestly adored and it was pure without any expectations to do anything other than relishing the infinite sky.

The night ended like a comforting blanket of twinkling, yellow diamonds as my mind recalls one of my most loved song "Yellow" by Coldplay. It was both strangely familiar and frightening to admit that your mere presence induced my most emotional personality.

Nevertheless, however long of an encounter may this be and such; my heart gives you the infinite gratitude as you have made me rethink and remember what it "feels" like to not feel lonely within this very short and splendid times we exchanged as humans.

To

Honest

Moments

art
Like

About the Creator

Aiyan Turley

Returning to Innocence to my Soul for I have lost it through trauma

Remembering the golden timeline of any moments of my life

Renewing myself every day since each day is a Blessing

Rewinding the Ambrosia of my Love

Run, but do not fear

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.