Poets logo

Angel

Poems About Him

By Marina RicciPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1

My Angel

my angel

has beautiful blond curls

and eyes the color of the sky

and his voice is like creamy caramel

and his lips are sweeter than strawberries.

he is good and kind

and he loves me

and I don't deserve his love in the slightest,

but he loves me.

and I call him

honey

darling

sweetheart

sugar

baby

handsome

sunshine

mine.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

2/21/19

"I now know what love is..."

Love is the way he looks at me

It's how he holds me when I start to panic

It's how he knows all of my nervous ticks

And how he is the only one who can calm me

It's how he commands me to sleep,

and reminds me to take my meds.

It's how he runs to get me water,

and how he tells me the ugly truth,

no matter how much I want to hear beautiful lies.

"...what it feels like..."

It feels like his hands;

the way they trace over every curve of my body

and reach out for mine when we walk side by side.

It feels like his kiss,

soft and sweet and passionate.

It feels like the soft curls of his hair,

whether I'm gently running my hands through them

or tangling my fingers in them.

It feels like his head resting on my lap

and his arms curled around me.

"...sounds like..."

It sounds like the rich caramel tenor

that he sings in.

It sounds like his laugh:

a bird call in the silence.

It sounds like showtunes

and guitar strings

and the gentle piano melody

that played during our first kiss.

It sounds like the firmness

of his voice, grounding me

when nothing seems real.

"...smells like..."

It smells like petrichor.

Like lemon and sage and laundry detergent.

It smells like coffee, cinnamon,

and like throat coat tea.

It smells like spring air.

It smells like mint.

It smells like handmade pizza

and brownie batter.

"...tastes like..."

Love tastes like a mango smoothie.

It tastes like his lips

a taste so familiar,

but always longed for.

Love tastes like sweat,

like his skin when my lips and tongue trail over it.

Love tastes like rich chocolate

and peach jam.

Like caramel and cocoa,

like popcorn drenced in butter.

"...looks like..."

Love looks like golden curls,

like sea-colored eyes;

blue then green then blue again.

Like plump pink lips.

Love looks like his smile:

the only ray of sun on a gray winter morning.

It looks like 'where are u' texts

and the way he cranes his neck

to search for me down the hall when I'm running late.

"...because you are love.

And I never want to lose you."

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Tears of an Angel

I have only seen him cry twice before.

But when I can't stop

detailing all the reasons why

I don't deserve love;

when I make him think

that this could be the last time we touch;

when he is afraid that he will lose me...

I watch his sea blue eyes become stormy.

He doesn't get angry,

but his fear is somehow worse.

It takes me too long

to realize

the pain that I'm causing him.

I stop.

I stare.

Deep into those tempest eyes --

the ones that shimmer in the sun.

And I realize my mistakes.

I know

that he's seen this too many times

on too many women that he cares about.

I am ashamed

of what I'm doing;

of what I'm saying;

I should know that I'm hurting him,

but I am so caught up

in myself

that I miss what's happening.

And the third time I see him cry

I'm the one who did it.

I'm the one who holds him

while he tries to hide it

because he cares too much.

He takes on the role

of calming me when I cry

(all the goddamn time)

and he is too often

too proud

to let me see him break down.

I apologize.

I hope it's enough.

Of course it is.

He loves me too much

to let my own self-hate

ruin what we have.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

untitled 20

When the late afternoon sun shines through the windows,

it illuminates us both,

wrapped up in each other.

He shines golden as the sun

while I shine copper, like embers.

He is an angel,

and I the succubus who tempts him.

When the sun hits me --

my eyes, my hair --

it shows him the hellfire

that lays beneath a sugar-coated exterior.

Yet he longs;

the angel is tempted by

the thrill of that hellfire.

and with a kiss

I drag him into sin.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Marina Ricci

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.