Poets logo

Angel in a yellow shirt

Dedicated to the love of my life, my beautiful wife

By Paul whiddon Published 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Angel in a yellow shirt
Photo by Wei Ding on Unsplash

I wrote this one a few days ago on the morning of my birthday. I was having a great morning and my beautiful wife is the reason for that. Not in that way get your head out of the gutters.

My wife has been my best friend and love of my life for seven years now and waking up beside her every morning is why most of my mornings start out great. It just so happens that my birthday is also the anniversary of our "first date." She picked me up before work and took me to breakfast and the conversation that morning led me to move to her home state 5 hours away from the only home, I've ever known to be with her.

Though it led to the best 7 years of my life to this point that breakfast was not how our story began. So, I jotted this little to poem in light of our anniversary to share how I found my better half.

Dedicated to my beautiful wife.

An Angel in a Yellow Shirt

Once at a party a buddy and me.

Traveled two states to see what sights we’d see.

A five-hour drive just to drink and flirt.

But would you believe I saw an angel in a yellow shirt?

She was there with another.

And we never would speak.

though time to time our eyes, they would meet.

But I live five hours away so it never can be.

Called away back to my life.

Our gazes got lost in that one night.

Life went on and all was just fine.

But she’d cross my mind from time to time.

Lonely drunken nights I’d fall fast asleep.

And the yellow shirt angel, she would visit my dreams.

I wonder no way could she remember me.

But it didn’t really matter for her I’d never see.

Five years now have passed and came.

I got called to a job in her home state.

We met and we talked, and fate started its play

A birthday breakfast would be our first date.

We hit it off straight away.

With nothing to lose and so much to gain.

I called my boss and quit work that same day.

Told all my loved ones I was moving away.

Here I sit its August 10th seven years to the day.

We’d hit up the Ihop and call it our first date.

Seven years ago, we both made the choice to change our lives.

But now the yellow shirt angel, I call her my wife!

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Paul whiddon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.