Poets logo

angel

devil

By River JoyPublished about a year ago 1 min read
11
"Words" ink on paper River 2023

you were an angel to me

and a devil to the world

twisting my words into nonsense

i fell into you anyway

silent, hardened

enamored with your peace

and angry at what led to mine

i never thought you'd see me through

my matchbox anger

coming too close to your flames

my bleary eyes

drunk and unstable

i never use the words

silence

we were so broken

but I picked up my shattered soul

off the ground

you let me, nothing was better

innocence, wrapped in hate

sickened souls spreading denial

years of denial

bleak winter mornings

torched hot summer days

drowning in each other

you took the last life boat

said i can swim

i ran to you still

that last time you were around

your eyes were dark

proud of the work you made

you whispered in my ear

i could not feel, the water was cold

i was left knowing

you were an angel to the world

and the devil to me

heartbreakperformance poetrylove poems
11

About the Creator

River Joy

I make things with paint and words and light. I was once described as an asshole with Mr. Rogers vibes.

Facebook

[email protected]

Tic Tok Poetry Readings

Buy Me a Coffee

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Oneg In The Arctic23 days ago

    🖤🖤

  • Hayley Matto23 days ago

    Wowza, "twisting my words into nonsense" / "enamored with your peace and angry at what led to mine". Been there and you captured these feelings so clearly and boldly with this piece. Hot damn, River. Felt my inner flame spike up with a tinge of rage with this one. Great stuff, also loved how you started and ended it with the same line. Super impactful.

  • Sandra Tena Cole23 days ago

    Oh wow! Been there... I feel you and I'm glad you got out of that xx

  • J. Delaney-Howe23 days ago

    "You were an angel to the world and the devil to me". I felt that. Been there before.

  • Sanna11 months ago

    Powerful, great work

  • Dana Stewart11 months ago

    Gut punch. I felt this. Great work, River. I agree with Brenton about those last two lines.

  • Brenton F11 months ago

    Those last two lines take it from good to outstanding!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.