Poets logo

And yet...

Here you are

By GB RogutPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Rodolfo Clix from Pexels

They said

“We never asked to be born in the first place”

And yet

Here we are, all of us

To do the best we can do.

Be kind to others, they say.

Treat others the way you want to be treated, they commend.

But they are not kind

And they must want to be treated like shit.

What are we going to do?

You and I?

I look at you

You didn’t ask to be born either.

Not in the first place

And yet

Here you are.

I cannot reach you

And yet

Here I am.

I will never fully understand the experience of you

And yet

Here we are.

You cannot reach me.

I wish I could help you see

I wish I could lend you my eyes

My brain

The memories of you

The fascination for you

The small things you do

You don’t even notice them

And yet, there they are.

You and I

We did the best we could.

And yet,

We are no more

Not here anymore.

You couldn’t believe my words.

I did the best I could

But I wasn’t kind enough

And you didn’t treat me the way you wanted to be treated,

did you?

I take back my eyes

My brain

My memories

My fascination

The small things are for you to keep

For me to miss

I will always notice them

And yet

I won’t be there anymore.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

GB Rogut

Jack of all trades, mistress of poetry. Mexicana. Bi. Autistic. She/Her. You can support me on Patreon https://www.patreon.com/musingabout or visit my tree https://linktr.ee/GbRogut

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.