Poets logo

Anabel-Lee

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
6
Anabel-Lee
Photo by Jr Korpa on Unsplash

Being whipped under the sinking shadow, drawn by the

Edges of the fire bird Phantom

Hearts torn asunder, I long to hear your golden call

Erased by a dozen sounds of piercing feelings that drove into me like distracted daggers

Anabel-Lee, I look for you in the golden tendrils of the bloody woods

Drama lurking, the movie of the devil raven ever pining in a maddening row of sickness and pain, the

Edifice that was ravenously put between us to tear us apart

Demanded that my head no longer needed my body, without you, I couldn't stay in this world to touch a shared longing, yellow shadow----departed.

“Beheaded”

----

Author note- because why would an author need their head without their precious Anabel-Lee?

love poems
6

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos.

I am Bexley is published by Resurgence Novels here.

The Half Paper Moon is available on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous is to be published by Eukalypto soon! Coming soon

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen11 months ago

    That infernal edifice put between always does it. Familiar emotions ever in abundance. Lovely sad poem.

  • Mariann Carroll11 months ago

    Wow , excellent poetry 👏

  • Enigma's 👀🎯

  • Why indeed?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.