Poets logo

An Ode to Her

The piece of my heart that's gone

By Vince ColiamPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
4
An Ode to Her
Photo by Tom Robertson on Unsplash

I guess it comes to this no matter what I do as long as I keep it real and true

The song plays on as I cruise in my car, where to? I don't know how far

I won't give up I'll never stop for you because I know that you are trying too

Sometimes it seems that it will never end like a tragic play like a dying trend

Life is a game it's a clever design to let the greatness in our hearts shine

With strong sincerity I'll live each day I'll do my job whistling all the way

Cause I am me and that is that, that won't change at the drop of a hat

Would you be proud if you saw me now, seeing my joy and wondering how

You don't know and neither do I, when I think of you I no longer cry

The feelings I feel they won't go away so what can I do or say

I think of you always every hour of every day so I will not cower

From memories of old a better time I want it all back is that such a crime

The nighttime trysts down in the park the lights shine brighter when you're in the dark

Sometimes I'm afraid maybe of fear but at times like these it all becomes clear

About why things happen it all makes sense my stubborn nature your innocence

I took you for granted I'm sure you know but then I never dreamed that you'd ever go

Love sure is funny I never did see the beautiful treasure right in front of me

I love you now a love that will never end rest in peace my love my joy my friend

heartbreak
4

About the Creator

Vince Coliam

I am a novice writer, songwriter, pianist, and poet. I love all art forms and am so blown away by the talent I've encountered on this platform.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.