Poets logo

An Inside job

Coronavirus

By Auriol BurgessPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

I'm not afraid of coronavirus

I'm not afraid to die

I'm more afraid to not speak my truth

And have to live a lie

Or get caught up in the fears of others

When I have plenty of my own

But let's be really honest

We just want to go home

To a place that lives inside us

Where this fear does not does not exist

Ok, I get it don't take silly risks

But all I'm saying is

it's not the virus that's to blame

For years of fear we've just denied

Fear and dread and shame

So let's own up

Once and for all

We've all been terrified

To loose our jobs, our homes, our loves

Before so many died

So it's time to take this time

To find what's deep inside

And finally clear out this crap

So the truth we do not hide

There's beauty and there's love

Staring us in the face

But instead we choose to look at fear

and put it in the place

Of an everlasting love

That will not die when we're no more

So let's all stop pretending

And get right to the core.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.