Poets logo

An Hourglass Starts to Crack

the makings of a revenant

By Jeffrey SparksPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1
An Hourglass Starts to Crack
Photo by Lieselot. Dalle on Unsplash

Waterfall of grains, I cannot see

Above my head, a massive hole pours sand

Betwixt choices, I claim stake to be;

Shake the hand of reprisal or bend my knees

Unless made a revenant to withstand

A fate slated for an abject misery

Silence stonewalls any circumvent

But whispers slither from both tongue and cheeks

To deny truths and oaths of state's decree

Futile to make more than one attempt

Withdrawn, sometimes as one doth scold

Best not count lessons as mistakes

Bemused by narratives that have been told

But self victories, I behold

The glass cracks that fore longs my stay

Soon to shatter, I won't be held within

Carried by a sandy river flow.

To love thyself is to love again

Only small cuts that grazed my skin

Destiny's gift to the man-turned ghost

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Jeffrey Sparks

Adversity is kindling I choose to burn to keep my hands warm in winter ensuring my words will stretch beyond the years that turn my bones to dust.

Any and all, subscribers, pledges and comments are welcome.

Thanks for reading!

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.