Poets logo

An empty chair

The loss of a loved one

By Craig MaxwellPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

There is an empty chair in our living room a chair once occupied by the one I love. A chair now empty because you have joined the angels in heaven above. I look at that chair all cold and lonely and im full of despair. I wish it was warm and occupied with you there.

I look at the empty chair were you once sat. we had hours where we once laughed and chat. I see that empty chair, and remembered all the fun times we shared. The times we would talk about hardships and you would listened because you cared.

I see that empty chair and I start to sob. You left so fast and sudden sometimes, I feel as though I was robbed. That empty chair looks so sad and forlorn. The chair you sat in since the day I was born.

I look at that empty chair with its faded upholstery and arms that are worn. From years of sitting, laughing, crying, talking when I felt my life was torn. If that empty chair could talk it would have an incredible tale to tell. Of babies children, grandchildren, great grandchildren that were sat on your lap and all was well.

That empty chair is were you sat when you gave me advice on what to do. You were always so wise, there is so much I feel I owe you. I see that empty chair I feel I also must smile. You would share stories of your youth, good times, and times of trial.

As I look at that empty chair you spent years sitting there reading books. Working on crossword puzzles sometimes with puzzled looks. I see that empty chair, I have memories of you with a happy smile. When family would come to see you for awhile.

That empty chair brings back memories of when you would watch your favorite game shows. You were always great at figuring the puzzles, it seemed like there was nothing you did not know. You would root for the contestants who were struggling and would get the answer wrong. You would also jeer the contestant was on the show for too long.

I see the empty chair and remember you always would welcome everyone who came. No matter who they were where they came you alway made them feel at home. It did not matter of you liked them or not you made sure no one visiting felt alone.

I see this empty chair and I remember your generosity and charity you possessed. You always were willing to help those in need and in time of stress. In that empty chair you grew old and frail yet you always seemed to smile. You always made everyone feel special when they stopped by for awhile.

I see that empty chair I remember your talent for playing the piano you played such nice music. You played at the church for decades even when you got tired and sometimes sick. I look at this empty chair I see a servants heart. You help dad us kids, grandkids and great grandkids you played a wonderful part.

I see this empty chair yes, I have tears, and I feel sad. I also have tears of joy and I am happy and glad. This empty chairs has many memories, memories for the rest of my life. For you were an amazing mother, grandmother, great grandmother and wife.

I will look at this empty chair and I will not despair. Someday I will join you with the angels in the air. So for now I will look at this empty chair with the fond memories that were shared. Until the day comes I see you again I will spend my life remembering you and the times you loved us and cared.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Craig Maxwell

I am an aspiring author I am currently working on getting my first novel published. I love to write science fiction, fantasy, horror and dabble in regular fiction.and a little bit of poetry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.