Poets logo

An abundance of Joy

Don't miss the small stuff

By A J BarkerPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Lalomanu Beach, Somoa

An abundance of joy in the simplest things

Every second, every minute, every hour of every day

I seek and find joy in the tiniest way

Creating a pinch of pure pleasure in simply whatever

The silky soft fur of a purring cat on my lap

The wagging tale of a dog so glad I am back

The scent of a flower floating in the air

Sitting down to relax in a comfy chair

The sensation of the sun kissing my skin

Victory in a race I never expected to win

Taking off my shoes and wiggling my toes

Unhooking my bra under my clothes

A smile from a stranger when I look forlorn

The calls of the birds awakening at dawn

Dancing around the kitchen while I cook

Spending a whole day just reading a book

The overwhelming smell of freshly cut grass

The feeling I get when I make someone laugh

The smooth feel of my teeth after their brush

Butterflies in my stomach when seeing my crush

Being complimented by someone I admire

Warming myself next to a big log fire

The warm water in the shower washing over me

The loud buzzing of a big bumble bee

Glimpsing a fox in the city streets at night

Watching a squirrel scamper up a tree with all it might

The full moon illuminating the sky with its hypnotic pull

The sunrises and sunsets that are utterly beautiful

Cracking an egg to reveal a double-yoke

A friend paying for dinner when I am totally broke

A gentle touch from someone who means the world to me

Weaving words on a page and creating poetry

The way a cherry tomato bursts in my mouth

Witnessing a formation of geese migrating south

Finding a forgotten bank note deep in my pocket

Calming words from a friend when I am feeling psychotic

The sweet sounds of children playing and laughing

The zone I slip into when I am photographing

Singing a song that resonates with my soul

A helping hand when I am stuck in a hole

A conversation in person rather than text

A letter from a distant friend that I did not expect

The splendid reveal of a rainbow after the rain

Kind words from a friend who sees me in pain

A hug from my dad when life feels too tough

When a good old cup of tea is more than enough

Being the first footprints in a fresh field of snow

Finding the answer to something I did not know

Quiet time alone to rest and relax

The alluring sound of a distant sax

The memories a photograph can make me recall

Receiving a gift for no reason at all

Being in the middle of nowhere with the stars in the sky

Fresh cream or custard on homemade apple pie

Finding love for everything and everyone

The satisfaction of a job well done

The wonder at seeing something for the very first time

The peace I feel when I connect with the Divine

An abundance of joy in the simplest things

I am grateful, so grateful for everything

I give thanks every day

For every joy that comes my way

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

A J Barker

I love writing poetry! Initially just for me, a cathartic exercise where I could express my feelings safely. Now I share my work: my goal to write for a living so I write, avidly, knowing the only way I will become a writer is if I write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.