Poets logo

American Dream

Is it even real?

By Real PoeticPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
8

White picket fence.

I want it now.

I can smell the barbecue chicken aroma

Floating through the yard—

That my future husband made.

Playing spades and drinking champagne.

A nice, blue house.

Not too large.

I’m not picky.

Buying a house just shouldn’t be this tricky.

I’d vote for Mike Pence if he decides to run.

If that’s all it takes to see

My dream come true.

It would be so fun.

To watch the children play and giggle.

If only I was born 70 years ago,

when homes cost a nickel…

So, I’ll stay here at Mom’s house.

Rent is way too high…

Until I become a lucky one’s spouse.

Thank you for reading! 💙

performance poetrysocial commentaryslam poetrylove poemsart
8

About the Creator

Real Poetic

Welcome to my imagination. ✨

I write poetry & short stories.

Thanks for stopping by! ❤️

Instagram: @therealpoetic

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    Yeah, for sure, I am a single mom. I had these daydreams a lot. Maybe one day!

  • Grz Colm11 months ago

    True story for many of us unfortunately! I like the dark humour in this though! Great job.

  • C.R. Hughes11 months ago

    I felt this on a personal level lol

  • I agree ❤️💯😉 and also great picture of the Blue House❗

  • Mother Combs11 months ago

    It's real, but it's not free. It's a fight to keep. Plus no relationship is perfect so then don't expect to never fight with your spouse, you're two diff ppl after all. Like I said it is a lot of work to achieve and keep. Got to be a fighter.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.