Poets logo

Alone is not Loneliness

yet a tower of defiance

By Justin Mark DunfordPublished 3 years ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
1

I was minding my own business

considering my own affairs

swallowed up by the horizon

when something caught my eye

upon a hill of a no consequence

a mighty figure

alone yet defiant

i drove right on by

pretending to ignore

that it caught my attention

and yes I admit

i heard the whisper

as loud as a clarion call

i threw my car in reverse

and found myself walking toward you

drawn. magnetically so.

to stand alone

is not loneliness

to know who you are

is an act of defiance

against the haters

and naysayers

and those whom you longed for

i found a moment of solace

a glimpse of respite

i found my way back to the car

and with new resolve

drove off into the night

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Justin Mark Dunford

Brisbane, Australia

singer for Artisan Kin (new album out) and upcoming solo works. whisky and shiraz lover

sucking the marrow out of life:)

Most of my stories are written stream of thought. an enjoyable process...hope you guys enjoy reading.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.