Poets logo

All That I Have

My balls and my words

By savage writerPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

who can i call right now and talk about how i am feelin’ with

my contact list is looking pretty empty

making it with my talents as a storyteller

on a road no one has ever traveled across before

feeling alone, yeah

feeling discouraged, yeah

feeling inadequate, yeah

the success i have been getting is unprecedented

i never thought that i could walk across a

stage and get awards for this shit

i never thought that i could relate

to so many people whenever i speak

i have surpassed limits

i have set new standards

damn, sure looking handsome while i do it

however, that came at an expense

all them nights i spent in misery,

ready to take myself out of this existence

constant arguments with my momma and exes

stressing about the bills, i still work odd jobs

storytelling is all that i have

it been there for me amid times of tragedy

sickness, trauma, death, heartbreak

i got one shot to make this work

failure ain’t something i want to experience anymore

i can’t keep falling flat on my head

it can only take so much force

i am extremely patient, i know that my life

ain’t finna’ change overnight but

the more depressed that i become,

the more impatient i get

i’m wondering when the fuck my

big break is going to come thru

my phone rings nonstop

bill collectors are the only people who call

to check up on me in the morning

i get hit with overdraft fee after overdraft fee

i switch jobs every four to six months,

writing full-time is the only job

that i ever had which stuck

the bread is minimal, still getting this off the ground

the fam trying to keep me grounded,

they not ready to see me transcend new levels yet

that’ll make them uncomfortable

i can’t even trust the people i am around,

constantly watching my back whenever i walk the streets

storytelling is all that i have

if it wasn’t for that, well…

i don’t know.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

savage writer

http://bit.ly/TRPY

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.