Poets logo

All Mine

The Here Comes the Sunrise Sessions Part 1

By Mark R. CieslakPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
1
All Mine
Photo by taylor on Unsplash

Sleep skulks like a cat not caught.

I close my eyes and try to gently overpower the air with the almost silent songs that never stop.

The pretend quiet disrupts the dark more than the screams outside.

That part of the night when there is no one but me

that uncomfortable quiet, a guest that stays late

drinking and feasting on memories.

But quietly.

I scream it away

But silently.

Instead, it sits at the edge of my bed

far too comfortably.

The darkness

While I search

Is pregnant with all my prior judgements.

Fear you can conquer.

Regret will watch you die.

This cosmically insignificant time.

Stolen,

Briefly.

It’s all mine,

all mine.

How have I spent you, mayfly?

Your one day

was mine.

All mine.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Mark R. Cieslak

"Our lives are madness. Trying so hard to make moments, take moments. Nothing but pianos in a storm."

"I hear the singing."

"What singing? You never said..."

"Ah boy, what singing indeed."

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jazzy 7 months ago

    MMMMMMM as i read your poetry I’m overcome with much emotion and I am just hungry for more 😅

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.