Poets logo

All in all

Playing with a sound

By Jeannine KauffmannPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
All in all
Photo by Thomas AE on Unsplash

When I was a pigtailed child so small

And my parents seemed as giants so tall

I would hide behind the low wall

I hear them both together shouting and call

My name resounding from the back of the hall.

But then in the end so tragic I had a fall.

Later that day I saw Santa sitting in a stall

Holding in his hands a magic red ball.

All in all, we can call it a poem,

All you see is all there is, an accurate self-portrait.

All the gold in China sounds so distant and made up.

All that effort to find it, and then what to do?

All day I think, I will be glad when this drawing ends.

All those roads not travelled, those choices made,

All those cheeks not kissed; hugs long forgotten.

All the memories erased in the last reboot.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Jeannine Kauffmann

Poetry writer in the early morning. Poetry as a wake up call. Then later I draw lines and colours. I have a page on Instagram my art other than words although it contains words too. Titles are important to finish a piece like a full stop.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.