Poets logo

All I Really Want

From you

By GB RogutPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Ana Paula Lima from Pexels

What I really want is to have you in my arms

to kiss you

to stare into you.

Instead

here we are

sitting on opposite sides of a table

sipping cold coffee

putting in an act for the rest of the world to see.

What I really want

is for this charade to be over

to be me

to be the one I am whenever I am with you.

Instead

here we are

face to face

pretending all is cool

pretending all is nothing.

What I really want

is for the rest of the world to disappear

I don’t care about anybody else

there’s no room in me for mercy or compassion.

I just want you.

I keep picturing scenarios

where everything

and everyone

fades away

and I can just go collect what I need

what I really want.

What we can’t have.

Instead

we’ll shake hands

and politely go our separate ways.

What I really want

is what I have to say goodbye to.

All I really want

is what you’ll take with you

what you’ll take away from me

what I have never been able to enjoy.

We have been so close,

on the edge.

We have stared into the abyss.

But we just won’t take the leap, will we?

Aren’t we formidable?

Aren’t we worthy of admiration?

Aren’t we?

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

GB Rogut

Jack of all trades, mistress of poetry. Mexicana. Bi. Autistic. She/Her. You can support me on Patreon https://www.patreon.com/musingabout or visit my tree https://linktr.ee/GbRogut

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.