Poets logo

"All for nothing."

Love doesn't last forever...

By Art3mistXxPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Taken by Les Nicholas c.2008

I woke up one morning and couldn't find myself in the mirror.

I went about my day. I looked in every mirror, window and puddle.

I was no where to be found.

My eyes have gone dark and my spark had gone out.

My heart wouldn't let me in.

I kept searching.

I looked in every face that passed me by...

I have prayed, meditated, drank, and smoked.

Still... nothing.

Somewhere along the way I lost the key to myself.

I wore a mask to disguise myself.

No one would know me.

I didn't know myself.

Eventually, my mask fooled me.

I wasn't real.

Did I really exist?

Then I heard your voice...

I turned, seeking the face to the voice that ignited my soul.

It was You...

I looked into your face and I saw myself, again.

It happened so quickly.

Every text, joke, sad, happy, angry moment...

unlocked me.

Little by little.

I started seeing myself for me, again.

I began to see myself in every mirror, window and puddle.

I started to heal.

Even now, through tear soaked eyes.

I can still see me.

I can feel again.

You unlocked my heart.

Even though it was never yours...

You can never say to me, those words …

Because loving someone is never,

"All for Nothing." ...

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Art3mistXx

I have spent majority of my life, keeping my writing to myself. It's never perfect, it's never good enough to share... so many excuses I gave myself. I realized that was how I felt about myself. Now I am breaking free of my self doubt.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.