Poets logo

All Apologies

I Was Not Sure How To Say This

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a year ago 1 min read
9

Introduction

I really didn't know how to do this. I can't expect anyone to read my stories if I don't make the effort to read theirs and sometimes I just get overwhelmed, I then don't read friends' stories and I am wracked with guilt. I do try to read things eventually but I know that I miss so much.

So taking a cue from the Nirvana song I will try to apologise in a villanelle.

֎ տտ ֎ ֎ տտ ֎ ֎ տտ ֎ ֎ տտ ֎ ֎ տտ ֎

I Must Apologise And I'm Sorry

I Saw That You Were So Busy Writing

I Never Took Time to Read Your Story

֎ տտ ֎

I'm Filled With Guilt And It Makes Me Worry

My Mind Was Plagued By Some Trivial Things

I Must Apologise And I'm Sorry

֎ տտ ֎

I Think I'm Swamped And So Very Busy

Not Giving My Time To Support My Friends

I Never Took Time to Read Your Story

֎ տտ ֎

I Skim Past Your Stories In A Hurry

Though I Will Support, That's What I Intend

I Must Apologise And I'm Sorry

֎ տտ ֎

I've No Excuse, To Read Takes A Minute

But I Miss Your Great Tales For Other Things

I Never Took Time to Read Your Story

֎ տտ ֎

My Guilt Is Something That I Must Carry

When I Don't Support Your Wondrous Word Strings

I Must Apologise And I'm Sorry

I Never Took Time to Read Your Story

֎ տտ ֎ ֎ տտ ֎ ֎ տտ ֎ ֎ տտ ֎ ֎ տտ ֎

sad poetry
9

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.1m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ Thrds

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsMariannDharCathyJudey

DawnMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    no worries. People are busy. Well said.

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    No worries, no apologies needed!!! Sending hugs!!!💖💖💕

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    You are much appreciated. If you have the time you will read stories . You promote stories for your friends . You are a treasure ❤️🌷🥳🤗💗👌

  • Heyyyy, please don't be too hard on yourself. Like you always say, we can't always read what everyone writes. We are not perfect and there is only 24 hours per day. We gotta do other stuff as well. You don't have to feel guilty for this. We all get overwhelmed at times and sometimes just don't have the time to read. So, cut yourself some slack!

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    Hmmm. On Vocal Assist alone there are 368 members. At just one post a week, and we know there are far more than that, at an average read of 3 min, plus a minute to comment. You’d be reading 24.5 hours a week. At two posts it would be 50 hours. Give yourself a break Mike. I appreciate you. 🥰

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    I think sometimes we go through phases on social media. One week we're hearting and commenting on every story we see, and the next we feel overwhelmed, have to take a step back, and then don't know how to jump back in. It happens. Heck, I have a whole poetry and tiktok account that I've completely abandoned. I know I'll get back over to them eventually. I think taking a break for a couple of days, or even longer sometimes, is understandable. Don't get down on yourself! Most people understand more than you think. ❤️ The important thing is your physical and mental health; sometimes the internet works against that, so take breaks when needed. ❤️❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.