Poets logo

ADDICTED TO MOUNTAINTOPS

While Deflecting Hope and Grief

By Sunshine on Brown SkinPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
My view from Mt. Brey. Brey, Ireland, Summer 2022,

The feeling of exhilaration.

Highs that deliver.

Feening connection to something.

Anything.

>>>>>

Invisibility perpetually looming.

Spiraling in loneliness.

Emptiness partnered alongside excruciating confinement.

Incomplete- a weight and word endured each moment the heights outmaneuver me.

>>>>>

Balm, a ridiculously audacious figment from way back when.

The ruinous need to keep both hope and grief at bay.

Wishing the fickle pair could be typecast for more security.

An adrenalized rush- prerequisite for the trembling anxiety to cease.

For vulnerability to fain protection.

Because expectation is notorious for inconstant byproducts.

>>>>>

Lest brokenness breaks free uninhibited.

Exposing gaping wounds, and scars festered, both physical and psychological.

While anticipation's slow fade pendulums to a hopeless' vibrato.

And unapologetically, with its ten extremities clinching, time lingers around all sides of this neck.

This body, nearly lifeless and willingly surrendered.

>>>>>

Unwittingly, my ebbing focus now derailed by time's upward anchored eye.

Immediately disoriented.

Stealing unintended heavenward glances with unpermissioned confidence.

Zion's concoction once again evaded.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Sunshine on Brown Skin

Writing offers an atmosphere of peace, connecting me to my Creator and human experience. The release is freeing and keeps me tethered to my true-self. Reminding me- I'm enough, I'm capable, I'm loved. Freeing others into the same truth.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Vranes Samaha2 years ago

    Well written

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.