Poets logo

A Writing Prompt Called What If’s

What if you could move your workplace — coworkers, bosses, everything — to a new location? Where would you go?

By Denise E LindquistPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
A Writing Prompt Called What If’s
Photo by Allef Vinicius on Unsplash

Prompt by Caitlin McColl, Inkslinger Magazine

What if I could move my workplace to a new location:

I would go to Mars,

to be with the stars.

Or maybe fly me to the moon,

it doesn’t have to be soon.

A treehouse would be nice

in the middle of wild rice.

It’s a good thing I’m retired

and not simply just tired.

I have very few co-workers

and bosses, and a few corkers.

My office is set up perfectly

the way I want it actually!

No need to move or relocate

maybe I can recreate

my space in an RV and go

on the road! So

let’s look at that there

l can spend time here…

What will it be like to move my workplace to an RV? I watched it on TV! I can go here and there and everywhere. An RV won’t go to Mars or the moon. Not yet; it may be soon. “Fly me to the moon,” I would say. Some have already noted that hey.

My mind forgets what I have already said and where I am to be occasionally. How could I move my office on the road if the Hubby does not want to go? Can I go without him? He said, “We can’t move to an apartment, as the cost is minimally 1100 dollars a month.”

Then he said, “Our heat, electricity, taxes, and miscellaneous aren’t much more than 600 a month. No mortgage. To go on the road, we have to buy an RV, think of the gas expense and costs for maintenance and parking it on the road!”

Okay, I give up!! Or maybe, I just need more money. HONEY?

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Published first by Everything Fun on Medium

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)about a year ago

    Lol 😆 The Tree House in the middle of wild Rice Got me❗

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.