Poets logo

A Word You Didn’t Know You Needed

Poem

By Paris ClarkPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
3

He’s like the lyrics to a jazz song I didn’t know I knew

Flowing through my ears just to reach a deep depth in my soul that I didn’t know existed

His hands are butter to my warm skin; melting and dissolving

Bubbling and sizzling

Popping and spreading

Reaching every dimension leaving a print behind

Tattoo marks from all the touches, all the kisses, all the air he breathes on me

It soils me to the point where there are trails of stains left behind

I want him around

All the time

Every time

Every day

It feels like we’ve been around each other already

In another time in New Orleans

We locked eyes and did not speak

We walked up to each other and began to Waltz the night away

White ball gowns and tuxedos, pearls and cufflinks, an open hand and a receiving embrace that bonded us for an eternity

We were married once in the 70s

Three kids ran around in the front yard while you fixed cars and the faint smell of my pies crept out the window

A cool breeze blows the Delphonics in the house just as you grabbed my waist and kissed my cheek

We exhaled at the satisfaction of love bringing up together again

A sigh of relief

A sigh of peace

A sigh of love

I haven’t seen him since then

Once I recognized who he was, I never wanted to let him go

He is the reflection of me

A mirror to my spirit self

A call on my life that I want to answer for an eternity

love poems
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.