Poets logo

A View From A Long Beach

Inspiration From My Muse

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
15
A View From A Long Beach

Another poem , a tribute to my wonderful Muse , who I was with last night and most of today chatting about this and that. Although I have used the song before , the beautiful “Can’t Get It Out of My Head” from “El Dorado” by the Electric Light Orchestra is perfect for this.

The first eight lines are from the song written by Jeff Lynne

Midnight on the water

I saw the ocean's daughter

Walking on a wave she came

Staring as she called my name

And I can't get it out of my head

No I can't get it out of my head

Now my old world is gone for dead

'Cause I can't get it out of my head

♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀

Standing on the long beach , watching the waves

The crash and crash against the shingle shore

But my ocean queen she knows there is more

Her mermaid sisters come, beauty arrayed

Daughters of the water , come together

Sharing their love, arm in arm, hand in hand

Tail to tail , breast to breast, love on the sand

Sunshine in their smiles, Herophile is there

Queen of the ocean , The Mermaids Love her

Loved and Adored , Standing on the Long Beach

It’s time to join them , her mermaid sisters

She enters the foam, her hands will now reach

Join with her mermaids, with them forever

As this sun sets they head for their new sea

♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀♀

inspirational
15

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.1m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ Thrds

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsMariannDharCathyJudey

DawnMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.