Poets logo

A Spot of POE

Chamber Door

By Lit NowPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1

Once upon a midday theory, while I wondered spry and cheery,

Over many faint yet sprightly visions of natural lore -

While I gazed, awake and happy, slowly sounds of bright birds flapping,

As of someone gently clapping, clapping at the wondrous awe

"'Tis something spiritual," I surmised, "Clapping at the wondrous awe" -

At this I smiled in splendorous awe -

Oh, distinctly I remember it was in the warm and soothing November;

And each living spark or ember danced gracefully within the fire.

Eagerly I wished to borrow, - a guitar until the morrow

For my guitar strings broken sorrow - sorrow of no musical score -

For a rare and radiant maiden came a tapping at my chamber door

Nameless here forever more.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Lit Now

I inhale great draughts of space.. The east and the west are mine and the north and the south are mine. Walt Whitman.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.