Poets logo

~ A Smiling Pessimist ~

forever waiting for oblivion

By Nisa Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
~ A Smiling Pessimist ~
Photo by Jake Weirick on Unsplash

I smile because the world is grim,

Consumed by people enthralled by sin,

And even with all the demons within,

I smile...

I smile at the repulsive traditions,

Of all the parasitic politicians,

Who ignore the homeless living conditions,

I smile...

I smile though the Earth’s possessed,

At the men who stare at women’s chests,

And although with money you’re all obsessed,

I smile...

I smile because I see no tomorrow,

The Earth is dying, it’s becoming hollow,

And although society is drowning in sorrow,

I smile...

I smile because the end is near,

And soon there won’t be anyone here,

Not a soul will be left to bring me tears,

So I smile...

I smile and it may not seem realistic,

Some may believe I’m a bit egotistic,

But to that I would say “I’m just positively pessimistic”,

And then I’d smile...

I’d smile and I’d smile and I’d wait for oblivion...

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Nisa

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.