Poets logo

a singular celebration.

At so many other moments in my life I would have broken down...

By M. A. HetussaPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

At so many other moments in my life I would have broken down, crumbled, died even, if I had to face what I have already had to so early into this trip. Instead, I am choosing to be happy – here, I am choosing to survive.

Medicating my way through life with my tried-and-tested, at-home techniques, I can make heaven out of almost any hell. I will not let the actions of others take away from the victories of the day. No matter the size, no matter the impact – a victory is a victory and is celebrated as such.

Tonight, is another night for me. I am celebrating my hard work, dedication, and God-given talent that will carry me to the next stage of my life. I am not here to celebrate a man.

Locked and loaded, I head out for the night, excited and eager to see what a city like this could offer a girl like me.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

M. A. Hetussa

"Globally minded, artistically grounded, she writes. And when she breaks, words flow from the cracks in her soul."

- Raising funds for my book, expected early 2021!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.