Poets logo

A Rat In My Stomach

And the feelings it brings.

By Cameron ParatenePublished about a year ago 1 min read
2

Each movement made invokes turbulence inside me.

Every thought I make brings more discomfort to my body.

Each and every thought of you pains me more as a plethora of memories flood through my mind, flicking through like a slideshow.

That inescapable cavity of dread grows, creating a desolate feeling, while simultaneously isolating my thoughts.

The clutter in my head intensifies as the jumble of conceptualisation swarms and only grows more with each passing minute.

Why you did this to me I will never know, leaving me beaten, destroyed, and vulnerable.

As time goes on, it only gets worse, not better, as the eternal entrapment is eventually evaluated by myself.

Where did it all go wrong, from euphoria to despair, driving my sanity downhill.

And as I struggle to think anymore, I feel it again, that same depressive feeling.

That constant gnawing that I feel which never really stops.

A suffering pain, like...

A rat in my stomach.

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Cameron Paratene

Buying me a coffee is not needed but would be greatly appreciated :)

Buy Me A Coffee!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • h3ldr3asonabl3about a year ago

    woah... this really hit home. great vocabulary as well.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.