Poets logo

A Purple Limerick

Because I Can’t Think of Anything Else (Blame Heather and Paul)

By Cathy holmesPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Top Story - March 2023
59
Created on Dall-E

There once was a girl in a dory,

Who attempted to write a short story.

The dory wasn’t real, but the pressure made her feel,

She was drowning in a boatload of worry.

*

Pen a tale of purple clouds, they said.

Think hard. Get it in to your head.

A magical, real plot. Now go, give it a shot.

Can I just write a limerick instead?

*

Will my short story ever be written?

Shall I be forever forth smitten,

With a silly little rhyme, on which I waste time,

While hoping, from inspiration, to be bitten?

*

Now as another day quickly passes,

And my thoughts, they flow like molasses,

I search inside my mind, hoping I will find,

An idea, or at least some mental glasses.

*

Yes, I know that doesn’t make sense.

Who cares, it’s all just pretense.

I’ll get to my story, in all of its glory,

And I’ll win all the dollars and cents.

*

That sounds a bit arrogant, it seems.

Come on now! A girl can surely dream.

Of winning the dough, for a story she’s told,

Even if, she’s no idea what it means.

*

As my limerick draws to an end,

There’s a truth that I feel I must bend.

There’s no rhyme for purple. Well take that, you durple!

That’s not a word? Who cares. Let’s pretend.

performance poetry
59

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (44)

Sign in to comment
  • Michelle Stampsabout a year ago

    That was funny

  • Rikke Krammeabout a year ago

    I just love the way you write, Cathy, and you've already won this Limerick contest. I bet you'll win the other one, too. You did enter that one, didn't you?

  • Dylan about a year ago

    I loved the build up and that last one was amazing!

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    Amazing congratulations on top story!!

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Fun one, congrats on Top Story!

  • Lea Springerabout a year ago

    You're Canadian!! You must know that "purple" rhymes with "maple syrple"! LOL

  • Gerard DiLeoabout a year ago

    You tried to rhyme purple Went 'round in a time circle You should have written violet To honor it inviolate Take it down smoothly without gurgle.

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Congratulations on yet another Top Story 🥰🥳🥳🥳🥳🥳

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    Well you don't need to dream since you have won top prize in a challenge and so many other wins. So this limerick style of jest is not so far fetched! I enjoyed reading as always!

  • Moe Radosevichabout a year ago

    Yup I concur 😂 nice job Cathy 😀

  • Holly Pheniabout a year ago

    Really fun one, Cathy! Congrats on the top story!

  • Sharon Betheaabout a year ago

    Congratulations another great 🏪🏬

  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    Cute stuff! Congrats on your Top Story!!!!

  • Quincy.Vabout a year ago

    The poem humorously captures the struggle of a writer's block and the pressure to come up with a good story, while also showcasing the author's wit and creativity through the use of limericks.

  • That's really lovely!

  • Sonia Heidi Unruhabout a year ago

    Thanks for being my inspiration! 🤪 Durple has now been officially added to my vocabulary.

  • Bryan Buffkinabout a year ago

    Get it, Cathy. At least you have something funny to write while your brain cracks away at the challenges. Well done.

  • Call Me Lesabout a year ago

    Fun and joyful. I love the humour Cathy. Congratulations on the top story 💛

  • Ahna Lewisabout a year ago

    This was so fun! Great job!

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Amazing!!! You are a limerick master!! This was so funny and rhymey. I’m in love!! 😍😍 Congrats on Top Story!!

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    brilliant! see, my evil plan is working! congrats on ahilarious TS!

  • Lol, this was great! I sang it like a song. Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Caroline Cravenabout a year ago

    Ha! Good job! Great top story!

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    lol 💜💜💜 That was hilarious ! Congratulations on Top story too!

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    Congratulations Cathy

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.