Poets logo

A Proper Brightonian

A Poem

By Warwick Holding Published 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

A Proper Brightonian

I’m a proper Brightonian

I come from Milner Flats

Living there was pandemonium

We were worse off, than the rats

I’m really from this city

Proper born and bred

For my gang, school was shitty

We went on the rob instead

We had to forage for food in bins

Bohemian, for us was just a song

We stole beer, from the liquor store called “Unwins“

This city is where I belong

The Muesli mountain, did not exist

The homeless were called tramps

They were normally all pissed

Or asleep under our skateboard ramps

We started the deals at a park called the Level

Selling “tenths” of squidgy and black

Some say the work of the Devil

Who cares, I’m from Milner Flats

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Warwick Holding

I’ve always been a storyteller, I’d love to say I was a writer, but I can’t. If people were even reading this on the toilet. I’d be humbled.

I write short, but true stuff, I try to mix honesty with humour, because it’s the only way I know

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.