Poets logo

A Poem of Grief

Grief can feel so physical, so visceral, in every part of the body.

By Surviving Childhood TraumaPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
A Poem of Grief
Photo by K. Mitch Hodge on Unsplash

My eyes:

swollen,

red,

raw from careless fingers

brushing at them

blurred with freshly fallen tears.

My lips:

pursed,

quivering,

unable to find words,

let alone speak

dry from the constant gasps for air

between sobs.

My shoulders:

curled in,

tense and sore,

holding a head cast downward

exhausted from carrying the weight

of this grief.

My heart:

lost in the immense depth

of this grief.

Longing,

yearning,

for the hands of time

to turn back

and change everything.

My lungs:

robbed of oxygen,

fighting to breathe.

Crushed by the weight of

each loss,

each disappointment,

each betrayal.

My senses:

electrified,

alert and aware,

searching for control,

surrounded,

by feelings of powerlessness.

My mind:

dizzy among these waves,

desperately trying to stay afloat,

searching for solid ground,

continuously swept up,

in the ocean of my pain.

written by Shanon

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Surviving Childhood Trauma

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.