Poets logo

A phone call will save your life

We pick up the phone, we reach out...

By Je'Neille SwartzPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
3
Image taken from VistaCreate

When you live in your head with pebbles and stones that become the rocks that break your bones with the hurt and pain, frustration and blame…

A phone call will save your life

When loneliness and being indoors can create mental wars with these silos of grain in your head that spill out of bed that drags your feet and struggles to meet the demands of the day and the silence gives way…

A phone call will save your life

As an adult child vulnerability is a 12-step program of penance caused by a disease, step by step, one day at a time, as we wait to breathe and listen for the chime…

A phone call will save your life

So as I sit and wait and watch the days turn into weeks and I’m weaker but still breathing and my soul is slowly bleeding ethereal silver, no not golden, as it dims and goes cold…

A phone call will save your life

And now I sit in wonder and I sit in awe in supreme gratitude as I rise from the floor, as I stretch and I reach and I tap to answer…

A phone call will save your life

A phone call will save their life

A phone call will save your life

performance poetrysocial commentarysad poetry
3

About the Creator

Je'Neille Swartz

I can't stop thinking about writing. Being a writer is like being an artist, you are either exceptional or inconsequential. Honestly, I've been afraid of both. I promised myself I would DO one small thing that scared me. So, here I am.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.