Poets logo

A Midday Bask

A Haiku in 10 Stanzas

By Jennifer AshleyPublished 2 years ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
2
A Midday Bask
Photo by Mike van den Bos on Unsplash

When the flagstones are

Warm in the garden, that's when

We can go to bask.

I'll sprawl here, on stone,

You sprawl there, on wood, and we

Can listen for steps.

If you prick your ears,

You can hear my rumbling; my

Happiness is loud.

Your tail is swishing.

Are you restless? Are you glad

To be here with me?

For now, let's forget

That our claws are sawed down, teeth

Blunted by disuse.

I can imagine

That I am striped and dappled,

And quiet and huge.

A fountain is a

Drinking hole. A finch is a

Kill to celebrate.

The dachsunds next door

Will cower when they see us

On the garden wall.

Don't mind the moths; mind

The rats in the compost heap,

Hearty as wild hares.

Come evening, a door

Will open. You'll hear my name.

Is it what you thought?

nature poetrychildrens poetry
2

About the Creator

Jennifer Ashley

🇨🇦 Canadian Storyteller

♾️ Metis Nation

🎓 UVic Alumni 2020

Writing published by Kingston Writers Press, Young Poets of Canada, Morning Rain Publishing, & the BC Metis Federation to teach Michif in Canadian schools.

✨YA Magical Realism✨

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis10 months ago

    Oh I love this. Beautiful execution. I didn’t expect a haiku in 10 stanzas to flow so well, or to tell such a sweet story. 💜

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Fantastic!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.