Poets logo

A Memory of a Daydream

Too Little, Too Late

By Poppy Published about a year ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
5
A Memory of a Daydream
Photo by Edgar Chaparro on Unsplash

Last night I lived in a

Memory of a daydream

You handed me spontaneity

And because it was

Your hands holding it

I cradled it against

My chest

(The beating wasn’t as fast

As it was in my imagination)

Every time I caught you

Looking at me you were smiling and

Although it made me remember

Why I loved you back then

It wasn’t enough to make

Me love you now

I skipped under the stars

And asked you the questions

I’d wondered years ago and

You thought it was the alcohol

But really it was just the

Liberty of not caring

(You never saw me

That way before)

Midnight slipped past us

In a way that made the night

Seem so much shorter than

It should’ve been

Although you’d never admit it

I knew you craved my nearness

More than you wanted any of

The experiences you told me

You’d had in the years since

You tried to push me away

Confessions spilt from our lips

Like shots from crazier nights

But I reminded you of what

I no longer meant and you

Accidentally said what

You still couldn’t stop

Yourself from feeling

You showed me the

Kind of carelessness

I’d imagined you

Clothing me in

Back before I

Showed it to myself

Public places in

Deserted hours

Childish playfulness

And shameless teasing

I cared too early and

You cared too late

Maybe neither of us

Are to blame after all

This is a belated epilogue

A moment stolen from time itself

It’s what I wanted then

But not what I need now

I’m sorry

For being your right person

But never at the right time

❀❀❀❀❀

If you enjoyed this poem please check out more like it:

inspirationallove poems
5

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.