Poets logo

A Man with a Babe

Migrating to America

By Hadayai Majeed aka Dora SpencerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
A Man with a Babe
Photo by Tom Pumford on Unsplash

Man with Babe in his Arms

He had made the journey from his foreign land to ours

Now rejected and abused by the one he cared for the most

He strikes out with his young son not yet two years’ old

Refusing to be hurt, humiliated and tormented any more

No this does not rhyme no it is not lyrical

It is the true story of a young man from a foreign land

Here in the US trying to survive with his young son

Here pouring his soul out to total strangers

Help me! Please help me!

My baby is hungry! I need diapers!

I want to work! I need to work!

I need someone to care for my child

While I work! Yeah I am man!

Now I know how it is to be treated like a woman

Yes, I am strong! I will make it!

Today I need your help so I can work

Take care of my child

My innocent 19-month old boy

Whose mom has gone mad!

I speak your language well

Your way of thinking challenges me

I have found a place to sleep for a day or two

Americans are so good in many ways

So bad in other ways

Yes, I am a man with a babe in his arms

Open your doors to me and him

Don't refuse me

I want to keep my child

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Hadayai Majeed aka Dora Spencer

Hadayai Majeed writes short, intriguing stories in many genres. The Joy of Islam series and Pieces of Me with Company are collections of her diverse works and those of others. Each book is unique always leaving the reader wanting for more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.