Poets logo

A lot a bit of me

Trying to open this store

By Mark R. CieslakPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
2
A lot a bit of me
Photo by Andrew Bui on Unsplash

A slit.

Our mouths,

so near our throats.

How carelessly we let those words drip out

that wander for years

through cupcakes and picnics

in between our comical movie notes.

Oily apologies and placating boasts.

So, we tense for the crack,

this thin bird with thinner bone,

It cannot possibly survive our attack.

AND

to think

That was the only thing we did together.

Clarify. The only thing we fought for together.

So,

Heavy sighs,

I miss the dream of Jackie, a dream I had built with its arms around the world and I was somewhere within that frabjous day

but

papers and pens crusade the rest of our ruined lives.

Mumbled forgiveness is always difficult to hear. It is much harder to smile at.

And the ones that love us salve the wounds with the story of “We tried,”

You and I know,

We both know in the depths, inside.

We had hopes flown on delicate wings.

Kites fly away, drunk on wind, strong on the surge

and destination known only to them.

I wonder what shores could they have touched.

Then stop stubbornly, hushed,

“No, I don’t.”

And that’s why I never tried to catch any of them.

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Mark R. Cieslak

"Our lives are madness. Trying so hard to make moments, take moments. Nothing but pianos in a storm."

"I hear the singing."

"What singing? You never said..."

"Ah boy, what singing indeed."

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Jazzy 7 months ago

    I’m loving your style of poetry SO MUCH

  • Jori T. Sheppard2 years ago

    Aww, so sad and so nice

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.