Poets logo

A Little Heart on my Hand

Poem: What I see within that little heart

By Rilee AreyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

One day you drew a little heart on my hand,

Placed where I can carry it with me all day,

I looked at it and smiled,

Found myself thinking about us for a while,

where the ink is lined with thought,

marked with you showing me you care a lot,

Throughout the day the rinses off,

But the heart remains a part of me,

Through it this is what I see,

I, see you writing drive safe on my window at night,

I, see you combining food making me the perfect bite,

I see our adventures as you climb up rocks,

I see you covering my cold feet with your socks,

I see us switching off being the little spoon,

I see us fumbling around till the afternoon,

I see us going out to eat to try a new spot,

Then us rating what was good and what was not,

I see us battling over rock, paper, scissors,

Where we know who is usually the loser,

I see you always wanting to try out the things I love,

Searching at goodwill to find you the perfect glove,

I see us eagerly anticipating the next yellow car,

Then either tapping or punching each other sometimes really hard,

I see us showing each other how much we care,

In our own different ways, we show each other that we are there,

I see us trading off times where we treat each other,

knowing what matters most to one another,

I see how you have marked me in more than one way,

creating many moments I hold onto every day,

When I look back to that spot on my hand,

The hearts simply faded, but the meaning behind it still stands,

That heart resembles us,

That little ink marking resembles how we love.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Rilee Arey

What a life we live, Lets live a life where we have something to write home about!

27-year-old trying to find meaning, love and a life worth living.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.