Poets logo

A Letter to my Wild Child

Part Two The Why.

By Nancie BrownPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
JUST A REMNDER, KID, THAT I LOVE.

Part 2

I LOVE MY DAUGHTER.

I hate her lifestyle.

It is a reflection of my best times

except that, I had explicit good manners.

except that, I used my higher than normal intelligence

to satisfy my curiosity of possible scenarios that

might affect my life for the good or bad.

Mistakes were still inevitable.

Most of them the result of trusting everyone until

I got fucked over more times than I was

ever shown generosity and love and understanding.

As I got older and wiser and became aware of ulterior motives

and the hidden agendas of others,

Less proud of how many times I attended the School of Hard Knocks,

I learned the lessons my own mother tried to spare me.

When I had a daughter of my own, I realized my mother would have endured all my pain to ensure happiness in my life.

I wish I had a treasured family heirloom, like a crystal ball that could have been passed down from generation to generation that spared our daughters' heartbreak and tears. In a tangible medium, we could show them the future reality of expected outcomes, warn them of unexpected endings.

The generations of mothers and daughters in my family have a gift they pass on to those of open sight and mind. The daughters that can accept it with the understanding, it is a gift born out of pure love and no matter how strange the circumstance must be heeded to do what it is meant to do. Spare them the heartbreak and tears of unexpected outcomes.

So I don't really need the crystal ball. It would have made a cool prop and lightened up the seriousness of some situations.

I just need a couple of hours, a couple times a month to have conversations with my beloved daughter. Ones in which I can speak freely and without being judged. A moment in time for my daughter to hear my advise and give it some thought no matter how opposite it is of her own opinion.

I want her, to give my opinion, the valuable consideration it deserves, knowing it was born out of love and meant as a gift not a curse. Meant to protect the generation that carries it forward, who just so happens to be, one bein, I love more than myself and could not live without.

My Dearest Darling,

I am afraid of losing you. I have been from the second you were a gift from God into my soul.

This past month, I can't sleep from worry. Its remedy is to laugh with you at my proven foolishness rather than banish myself so I won't insist on further investigation of my reasonable fears toward a stranger in our lives.

Indulge me this ridiculous, mentally disturbing provocation, just this once, by verifying a few simple facts, you are entitled to have the knowledge there of. Quell my fears with compassion instead of dismissing them with reckless abandon.

I love you - Mom

THE ROAD TO SUCCESS AND HAPPINESS HAS MANY SHORT CUTS OF GREED THAT YOU WILL PAY FOR WITH LITTLE PIECES OF A DIVINE GIFT THAT IS KEPT SAFE BY YOUR SOUL.

HOW PRECIOUS IS YOUR INTEGRITY? HOW MUCH OF IT CAN YOU AFFORD TO LOSE? ARE YOUR GAINS WORTH THE RISKS OF SHAME? WILL YOU CONSIDER YOURSELF THE UNSUSPECTING VICTIM OR THE WILLING PARTICIPANT? WILL YOU CHOSE TO LIVE IN IGNORGANT BLISS?

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Nancie Brown

vocal.media/poets/bio-in-poetry

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.