Poets logo

a letter to lost joy

Poem written March 24, 2021

By Starlight StormPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
a letter to lost joy
Photo by Jackson David on Unsplash

Hey joy

A friend asked me today

To write you a letter

I told him I would, so here we are

My friend asked me to think

About what it is that's missing

To try to describe

What's changed since I was living

Not existing, not surviving –

Really living

After some thought

I decided it's you

Many things have changed

But when you boil it down

I lost you

You're hard to describe

Not really happiness

Not mere contentment

You're a merge and blend

Of those and more

It can be weird to think about

But I don't need to be happy

To have joy

Bad days are bad, but I can get over it

As long as I have you

I think that's a difference

Between sadness and depression

When I'm sad, I can still have joy

When I'm depressed...well, I've lost you

And when I've lost you, I've lost myself

It's weird to think about it

How much I relied on you

Without even realizing it

Each day, each week, I depended on you

And did things to rejuvenate you

Now I've lost you

And I don't know how to get you back

I've tried all the usuals

Reading, biking, playing in the snow

But something's missing

Maybe I'm not doing enough

You come back, but then you fade away

It's been a while, but I think I've decided

Maybe, just maybe

To keep you here, I need a friend to share you with

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Starlight Storm

Lover of nature, friend of the stars, weaver of legends.

Storyteller and photographer, I aim to give voice to the voiceless and share the beauty of creation.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.