Poets logo

A-L-O-N-E

never enough

By Heather HublerPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Top Story - October 2022
93
created in Nightcafe

alone

lone

one

none.

never

enough

for

anyone.

is this

the only

way

to be?

makes me

want to

run

and

flee!

on the

outside

always

looking

in.

surrounded

by crowds

but not

fitting

in.

round

and round

my mind

spins,

'n spins.

a failure,

odd,

weird,

crass.

everyone

can

kiss my

ass.

stretching,

reaching

missing

the mark.

alone

alone,

lonely

in the dark.

no way out,

I can

never see.

no way out,

not for me.

alone

lone

one

none.

never

enough

for

anyone.

falling,

tripping

left

behind.

screaming,

yelling,

pay

no mind.

bleeding,

crying,

ignore

my

pleas.

gasping,

fading,

what's

left

of me?

all I

need is

a prick

of light

to break

these

lonely

chains–

take flight.

a simple

spark–

watch

it

burn.

in the

form of

a friend,

it's

my

turn.

to watch

my

solitary

one

turn

two.

the

difference

made

by

the

shape

of

you.

sad poetry
93

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (37)

Sign in to comment
  • Jazzy 7 months ago

    First off, congratulations on the top story with this one. This captured my heart and soul.

  • Elysia Dawnabout a year ago

    Solitude can be beautiful, few people are worth spending time with. No need to be miserable even if alone. People tend to act like it's so terrible, when really it's not. Though it's still easy to feel lonely I guess, because even with all the billions of people in the world, most are shallow automatons. Impossible to connect with. A cat can help you to not feel lonely too. The last line is great.

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Dr. Constance Quigleyabout a year ago

    Wow! Just so beautiful. I subscribed.

  • Adlyne Faithabout a year ago

    Wow! It felt like I was reading myself. I know the feeling where no matter how much you try, you just won't fit. Powerful words!

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    This was so powerful, wow. 😳😍 I really loved the last line, “The difference made by the shape of you” - so beautiful! Really well done :)

  • Arun kumar barikabout a year ago

    Just love yourself and I love myself very much and if you are alone then live your life with 'you'.

  • Bravely Worded💟about a year ago

    I love this work. Super cool.

  • marie e ehlenbachabout a year ago

    It was very good!

  • Manisha Dhalaniabout a year ago

    So beautiful!

  • Autumn Fryeabout a year ago

    Beautiful and sad all at the same time. I could feel what the narrator was going through in this. Nice work.

  • Efulabout a year ago

    Nice article, love it

  • Pennyabout a year ago

    This is wonderful. Haunting. Brought tears to my eyes and a lump in my chest. I felt this.

  • Justiss Goodeabout a year ago

    Beautiful and sad at the same time. This poem aptly depicts the hauntingly serious issue of loneliness, something I coincidentally just wrote about. You sum up every uneasy feeling connected to loneliness so well. Great job! :-)

  • beautifully written. the raw emotion, from the darkest parts of the soul. and then the plea for a prick of light! you paint a beautiful picture with your words I love the ending <3

  • Caroline Janeabout a year ago

    This reads to me like the streak of a tear down a cheek. I am welling in empathy. ❤❤❤

  • Poppy about a year ago

    This is an absolutely gorgeous poem Heather!

  • This comment has been deleted

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Linda Rivenbarkabout a year ago

    You laid the groundwork for the entrance of that single, solitary friend who could end the lone-ness and one-ness just by being by your side. A truly beautiful story of human connection.

  • Emily Marie Concannonabout a year ago

    Wow I can see why this got yop story!! :)

  • Aundriel Washingtonabout a year ago

    Thought-provoking! Sadly, I felt this way yesterday.

  • Joe Youngabout a year ago

    Very good - and reading while scrolling down gave it a nice rhythm.

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    Excellent

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.