Poets logo

A Higher Purpose

Why I perform music

By Julie LacksonenPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
12
Author playing Valse by Auguste Durand, from memory

I do not play solely for cash,

Though some may come my way.

I do not choose to play for fame.

I'd sooner fade away.

*

Sometimes, the keys will call to me.

I rarely can resist,

And if you ask me for a tune,

I'll play, if you insist.

*

But music is - to me - pure life.

I play to get a high.

And when a song comes out just right,

I feel like I can fly.

*

Is it selfish to play for me,

And sometimes hoard my gift?

For music - whether sad or bright,

Might offer others a lift.

*

I may not be quite good enough

To play for fame or wealth,

But I don't mind. I'm happiest

When playing for mental health.

inspirational
12

About the Creator

Julie Lacksonen

Julie has been a music teacher at a public school in Arizona since 1987. She enjoys writing, reading, walking, swimming, and spending time with family.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Irene Mielke2 years ago

    I write poetry, but your poem is so much better than my poetry! I loved it.

  • Your music is simply beautiful! Thank you💕

  • Simply amazing! The poetry and the video! I have a piano, but like so many others, gave up on being good.

  • I love this and you can play, I can't , beautiful

  • Your poem was as magical as you playing the piano 💖

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Your words are beautiful, as is your playing. Wonderful.

  • Linda Rivenbark2 years ago

    Julie, I like this poem about your music. I would like to hear you play and/or sing sometime.. Playing for yourself and your mental health is one of the best reasons to make music!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.