Poets logo

A Grateful Moment

mercy

By Ward NorcuttPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 2 min read
3
A Grateful Moment
Photo by Avi Theret on Unsplash

He noticed

upon looking back

he did these things when it happened:

*

He noticed

just barely

the silhouette flurry

flash upwards

*

He noticed

in that instant

he hoped

that wasn’t a bird

*

He noticed

next

the dull thwack

of the collision

*

He noticed

he turned his head

just in time

to see it fall

*

he noticed

his realization

of the event

as he exclaimed

“Oh, no.”

*

The young man

now on his own

sat on his one chair

in his rental suite

basement kitchen

staring out the window

with languid eyes

*

He remained motionless

except for the blinking

until he pursed his lips

and heaved a breath in

through his nose

and out again as

he set his jaw

*

He shouldered the old

wood door open and

craned his head out

his left hand

still holding the glass knob as

his right hand held flat

against the ratty layers

of floral print

*

The bird

lay gasping in the bed

beside an old yellow rose bush

its wings not quite

eagle spread and

covered with dirt

its beak

was snapped

like a pencil point twig

still hanging on

a sinew

*

He cupped the bird ever

so gently in his hands

and just sat there

stoically dry-eyed

cooing apologies

his head bowed over

watching the little gasps

grow slower between each

until its shiny black eye

became dull

*

He let go

his right hand and scooped

a small grave

right there

where it had landed

beside that yellow rose

*

It was a starling I held

in my hands

those many years ago

and I could not finish it

as my father would have done

Piteous me

I watched it watch me

oblivious

to my cascade of sorries

*

But there was a moment

just as its eye milked grey

when it sighed just a little

lighter in my hands

and I knew

we would both be okay

heartbreak
3

About the Creator

Ward Norcutt

Playwright and poet.

My goal as a writer is to write thoughtful pieces of prose, poetry and stage plays. Hopefully, the end results are entertaining and engaging, with layers of meaning that make sense to the whole or a theme therein.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    Piteous me. Amazing the strength that comes through the experience. What a wonderful recollection, and delivery. Beautifully tragic

  • Allie Bickertonabout a year ago

    Every word perfectly in its place. 👌🏻 Beautiful! I have a newfound love for the word sinew.

  • Ryan Smithabout a year ago

    Once again, you show your unique ability to marry tragedy and beauty together seamlessly, and with great power.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Oh my goodness. I think I would have cried. Wonderfully written, while so sad.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.