Poets logo

a goodbye one night when the world wasn't watching

a simple poem about a simple moment

By Jason SchweizerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
a goodbye one night when the world wasn't watching
Photo by Ryan De Hamer on Unsplash

We sat in your car

two front seats and a gear shift

as the orange lights of the empty lot

the few cars passing by

the flickering marquee across the street

the world deserted

though bustling

all went sleekly about their business

i knew they existed

only for this moment, and

only for us

*Please note, I have added this statement as an addendum because the good moderators at Vocal seem to be under the impression that poetry less than one hundred words isn't real poetry. I, on the other hand, think this piece is perfect in its brevity, and if more words were to be added, it would lose its effect.

So, rather than de-legitimating my art by slathering it with unwanted, unnecessary words, I have created this addendum explaining why I will not be adding any more words; this poem is deliberately brief, and perfect exactly as it is, less than one hundred words.

I truly hope you enjoyed it, and I hope the unnecessary addendum didn't ruin it for you. I look forward to the day when Vocal adopts a more inclusive policy.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Jason Schweizer

Before the 2020 outbreak, I was a gainfully productive food server. When the shutdown shut down, Uncle Sam didn't come through for me. So today, I'm just a guy doing his best to get by in an uncertain world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.