Poets logo

A Free Spirit

Love your home

By Eric HarveyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I wish I had owned my own little house

I'd settle there as quiet as a mouse,

I would cook and clean, get in a tizzy

Wash dirty crocks and keep myself busy,

Enjoy doing the washing and the chores

Sweeping the carpet and scrubbing the floors,

I'd polish the hearth with a little spit

Keep the cat on the mat and fire well lit,

My bedsheets would all be crispy and white

Keeping me comfy throughout the long night,

A handsome husband laying at my side

There in that humble house we'd reside.

But, I'm a nomad, free spirit by birth

A vagrant, a hobo, walking God's earth,

Though a bed of straw or a field of hay

Is excellent on a warm summer day,

Hedges and fields provide my daily fill

Crystal clear streams where I drink and I swill,

The sky is my ceiling, the moon my light

Owls and bats my companions at night,

Then come the winter, warm barns are my home

As over those snow - covered fields I roam,

Sharing my warm bed with a little field mouse

Oh, I wish I had my own little house!

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Eric Harvey

I am a grandfather of four and a father of four, I am 69 years old and i live in Kidderminster , Worcestershire in the heart of England. I have been happily married for 48 years.We lost our youngest daughter Vickie to Leukemia 7 years ago.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.