Poets logo

A Fools Christmas in Paradise

A Holiday Tale of Love and Greed

By Gregory T. PaschalPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Every night on Christmas Day my gift would appear.

A homeless girl named Dezeray, sharing Christmas cheer.

With dirty socks on both her hands, she sang so I could hear

a Christmas carol, just for me, year after year.

She would leave with Christmas dinner hot and wrapped with a bow.

And a hundred measly dollars I could afford to let go.

The song she'd sing and smile she'd bring would always let me know

she appreciated any kind of kindness I would show.

This was our tradition despite the odds and ends.

A single day a year Dezeray and I were friends.

But I took it for granted and failed to comprehend

Dezeray, she was enchanted, my little godsend.

Shortly before Christmas when Dezeray was nine,

the business I once harvested had finally reached it's prime.

I became a rich man in such a short time

that my heart had become jaded, the money was all mine!

When she sang for me that Christmas I could not be gratified.

"Mr. man, merry Christmas!" she called out, but no reply.

I was far too occupied.

It was much too cold outside.

I felt so relieved I sighed when she walked away and cried.

Then on New Years morning I recieved disturbing news.

Sales were down and selling was the better choice to choose.

Everything I gained I simply was about to lose.

Grabbed my keys and my shoes, I was about to blow a fuse!

I put the pedal to the metal, driving fast and without care.

Until I ran over a little girl with messy hair.

As I got out to check on her, all i could do was stare.

There was no way this was fair, do I deserve this despair?

Lifeless in my arms, Dezeray held a device.

It was an audio player that said:

"Merry Christmas twice! I know it's not the same

but I hope it will suffice. All I want for Christmas

is to just do something nice!"

As she sang Silent Night I knew that she had paid the price

for everything I valued in a fools Paradise.

-GP

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Gregory T. Paschal

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.