Poets logo

A Fight Within

The Person on the Inside

By Misty RumsleyPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
1
A Fight Within
Photo by Hưng Nguyễn on Unsplash

I close my eyes knowing that I'll see her right in front of me

And there she is, the wind blowing her hair and rustling her loose sleeves

No, I didn't know who she was she's always there

I don't know if she is real or from one of my dreams

Whoever she is, she has been with me for as long as I can remember

She's gracious and always smiling at me

Why is it that she tends to leave bad luck behind her after showing up in my mind?

She's beautiful but untouchable

Laughter pours from her mouth but she leaves with the tears of fellows on the ground

What of her is true?

What of her is false?

Where has she come from?

Where is she going?

Is she merely luck to those who seek it?

Only she knows how she will help or hinder those around her

She arrives with the sunrise, yet doesn't leave after dark

Her voice can be heard but doesn't always reflect her true heart

Just as our thoughts her name changes everyday

From Fearful to Wise, to Love and then Disaster

While she comforts some fallen man by the roadside, she trips another further ahead

Some days she seems to be the right one, others she is the culprit

She has the correct words, styles and tone to lure something she wants

She has a craftiness to take what isn't hers, twisting a truth

To some she can have a bitter taste

She is like a wild horse that cannot be broken by a man except one

She can be controlled with great effort, after much time, waiting and often tears.

She is inside of us, a part of us that we cannot hide forever

The ones around us see who we are in the moment

She pulls like the tide

It is often only few who have the strength to swim the other way

She can work with us or against us

She belongs to no one but ourselves

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Misty Rumsley

My goal is to build my storytelling skills and explore depth in poetry

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Joelle Rumsley2 years ago

    Wow... Your writing is so deep! I love your word choice and descriptions, AMAZING!!!

  • Sue Rumsley2 years ago

    Wow, so hauntingly true. Such an authentic description of the many 'faces' of the common inner struggle of us humans . . .

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.