Poets logo

A Family To Come Home To

The Workshop Collection

By Marc OBrienPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Lithuanian/American Author/Poet Marc O'Brien

The best thing I know is

Challenged its fizz

Once looked appealing

During the heated wheeling

And dealing

Standing over there inside the refrigerator machine

A cooling off advertising scheme

Lit up alluring the innocent teen

Sacrificing a few nickels and dimes

Asking ‘could you ever be so kind?

Be a break reason from the daily grind,’

A beverage escape,

Seemed at the time to be great

After trading a dollar or two

Soda pop arrived right on cue

I opened the tin can

Feeling strong after making a command

Enjoying a certain brand

“We are done with this thirst driven war,”

I said walking out the corporate door

Where outside there was a promotional sign

Have a drink its social time

“Well, I have mine

Now it is time to dine,”

Heading home

To a place where I would not be alone

Arriving there is a luring smell

Which I could not tell

What could be the dish?

Red meat or white fish?

Was my questionable wish

Sealed with a kiss

Not expecting a failed miss

While walking up the porch steps

Having a stomach hungry not upset

I opened the door screen

And realized I was living a dream

Family of four

Life team member cooking after errands at the store

“Work is done, I am beat,

Are we all ready to eat?”

I inquired taking my seat

Royal serving fit for a queen or king

Respectfully understanding my partner was my honest wing

“Kids brought home their grades

All the letters were good they made,”

“Now little son

Academic competition you won?

In the learning game

Studies successfully accomplished no one can complain,”

“Yes, I got an A

Everything went my way.”

“How about you?

Susie Sue

How well did you do?”

"Average out to a four-point oh

That is what I know”

And I applauded, “way to go”

A few hours later

My enchanting waiter

Joined me in bed

That we shared since we were wed

“Schooling is good

As it should

Now we must rest

Proving as parents we did our best”

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Marc OBrien

Barry University graduate Marc O'Brien has returned to Florida after a 17 year author residency in Las Vegas. He will continue using fiction as a way to distribute information. Books include "The Final Fence: Sophomores In The Saddle"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.