Poets logo

A Dragon on Vacation

reliving frontline trauma at inconvenient times

By Auntie LiciousPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
A Dragon on Vacation
Photo by Adam Kring on Unsplash

The steady rhythm of helicopter blades overhead-

Reminds me of the violence.

Catches my breath.

And steals any momentary lightness I’m feeling,

on this brief reprieve from the frontline.

The panic grips my chest,

and I find myself sobbing.

Deeply concerned for my blockade family,

300 kilometres from here.

No one in this outer world understands

the intimate perseverance

of locking into a logging road in the middle of the night.

As I bounce on the waves,

paddling by sunlight,

noticing the freedom of my limbs, for now.

My molecules forever divided

Between joy & pain.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Auntie Licious

She is a never ending story written in the stars.

Alyssa has been a lifelong writer, having recently begun sharing her creations more widely. Her poems are inspired by nature, heartache, activism, sensitivity and mental health.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Auntie Licious is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Become a pledged subscriber or send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.