Poets logo

A Day

Day Uno

By Arthur WaltonPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
2

For most the day would start when the alarm clock begins sounding off as well as buzzing; for me I was still awake from the previous nights partying.

So around six a.m. I hop in the shower to get ready for the day to
come; knowing that even without any sleep this day would be fun.

Have to get prepared and ready for this ahead with my schedule that is full; not talking bout going to work but bout going to high school.

Using shower to try to get rid off the stench of all the cigarette smoke; with no regard for the smell from the weed you soon will toke.

Brush your teeth to cover the aroma of alcohol on your breathe; no thoughts giving to being able to pass a normal sobriety test.

Pick out your outfit for the day so you can look your absolute best; flamed up from head to toe to represent your gang set.

I am the epitome of what is America's worst nightmare to all the kids parents; I take pride in being able to look at your father and leave him scared and shaking.

The type that your mom is worried about you being in the same class as me; reason being if you was then they had to worry bout your safety .

I do not hide the fact that I play no games; just one wrong look was enough for me to leave you hurt and maimed.

Getting kicked out of school for me was a badge of honor; yet I was still at the same time was a scholastic scholar.

I would be on the honor roll even while staying in trouble; making straight A's while security following me around like a body double

So back to school and arriving before time for class; before the bell for first period run into a guy who beat my foster brother's ass.

Happily let him know that by day's end we going to square up and throw down ; however unlike with my brother, with me he will be left knocked out on the ground .

Let the crew know your plans for the day ahead especially swhat's up with this punk; meaning got my back covered so are no worries about getting jumped.

Not realiizing this will be your last day attending this school; we stil dont have level 3 clearance to take our property to.

All caus you not once opened your backpack at all durin this particular day; if you had maybe you could have postponed in some way.

But to be honest knowing or not knowing in the end makes no difference; while my brother struggled with reality saying circumstances add to our outcome which is immenent.

The day just flew by while waiting on the 3°o'clock bell to sound; out to the parkin lot to see if this bitch been found.

Once we locked eyes he tried to jump on his bus thinkin he was safe; made no difference to me since I was prepared to catch a case.

So in front of the faculty and student body I yanked his ass out through the window; then commenced to beat him down until my arms were to tired to throw.

Left him in a bloody heap while security is pullin me off; laughing at his unconscious body lettin everyone kno he was not the least bit tough.

That is when for me at least, the real fun began; big smile on my face as they are puttin cuffs on my blood stained hands.

For me this was nothin but a hit for the good; as a reputation builder for me especially in my hood.

Thoughts gingerly runnin thru my mind of other reasons for more to fear; even m9re so if end up suspended for rest of the year.

Get takin to the administration office so I could face off with the principal; however my mind was long gone lookin forward to the nights party and festivals.

The party that awaits is where I would recieve my stripes; for doin dirt for the gang as well as holdin firm my families might.

Then something occured I couldn't begun to fathom or envision; they emptied my backback on the table and found a dangerous weapon.

Had a 9 millimeter Glock in my bag yet didn't even know it; to make matters worse for me was the fact it was fully loaded.

Holding 16 hollowpoints in the clip plus the hollow in the chamber; to them it just meant I was responsible for puttin everyone in danger.

Though never pulled it out still to them it was by and large; just enhancing anything facing with new felony charges.

All this had me mad as hell by time it was all said aand done; sad thing is I wasn't least bit angry for bein caught with someone else's gun.

To the contrary, I was pissed for getting arrested for gun possession; since by then the entire dent body had left the location.

I totally despised the fact that everyone else is Good and chillin; im still homeless and struggling,o wat a wonderful feeln .

Plus the fact all students ran off and left; would rather leave in handcuffs whil stickin out my chest.

performance poetry
2

About the Creator

Arthur Walton

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.