Poets logo

A Dad to be

Waiting for the arrival

By ROSLYN WILLIAMSPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
A Dad to be
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Hey Dad, how you doing?

Thought I would check in & say “Happy Father’s Day” to be. I know it is not my time to be here yet, on the outside, but saw you & mum spying on me from out there looking at how I am doing.

Hey, did the photo get my good side? Its comfy here inside, still plenty of womb to somersault & stretch my tiny legs.

You would be so proud; I’m cooking pretty good I’m planning on growing big & strong with big blue eyes & blondie locks.

Won’t be long & I’ll be in your arms, our eyes will meet, we’ll not need to say a word,

instantly we will be complete, our bond of love sealed for life.

Cannot wait to hear whose eyes I have; how sweet my button nose is & how

perfectly formed God made my ears to be.

I know you will count my fingers & toes, TWICE, just to make sure I’m perfectly baked!

I’m sure you will be a fantastic DAD & teach me all I need to know,

like how to spell & count, how to fish & catch a ball.

BUT …Can I ride the dog?

Can I write on walls?

Can I eat some worms? I’ve heard they taste rather good!

Will you pick me up when I take a fall?

Will you read me a book?

Will you tuck me in bed?

Will you kiss me goodnight 10,000 times & stare at me while I sleep?

Will you be amazed at all I do & say Prayers as parents do to keep me safe & blessed as well?

Will you sing me a song to calm my fears & stroke my head to remove a high fever?

Will you tell me tales of olden years when you were small?

Can we go on picnics & learn to swim & surely, you will push me on the swing?

What! Be good or you will drop me off to Grandma’s house!

OH NO!

What fun that will be, when I return & giggle with glee after all she has taught

me that you will not see!

Well Dad, I am getting tired, its hard work getting ready to break out,

but this time next year we will reminisce of all the fun we’ve had & the milestones that I have reached,

We will be best mates & celebrate Father’s Day for real.

Cannot wait to see you Dad I know you will be my Hero.

Love from me, your Son in waiting. xxx

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

For my son LUKE as he prepares for the journey of Fatherhood & my first Grandchild. Teach a child in the way he should go & he shall not depart from it “The Bible.

By

Roz Williams 5/9/15

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

ROSLYN WILLIAMS

actress in stage & film , poetry & public speaker , dabbling in childrens story writing . beauty therapist & nail artist body piercer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.