Poets logo

A Collection Of Words At Play

Inspired By Cendrine Marrouat

By Sarah St.ErthPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
8
A Collection Of Words At Play
Photo by Debby Hudson on Unsplash

The Following will be a collection of several poems, in various forms. Recently introduced to me by the lovely, and talented Cendrine Marrouat. You can find her article here.

Poetry is something I have always enjoyed, though I have not published much here on Vocal. I have thoroughly enjoyed learning about these wonderful forms of poetry. They are so refined and disciplined. They are both fun and excellent training. My first successful attempt (it is harder than you might think) has a theme that truly describes a struggle I have faced, and it's solution. It also does so in the appropriate amount of words and syllables.

Presenting my first Vardhaku ~

By Дмитрий Хрусталев-Григорьев on Unsplash

Freak

Outcast Made

Endearing Faces

Quiddities In Our Minds Eye

We choose our perceptions, we are our responses, Always loving.

~

Okay so... Some of you may have noticed I am a little different 😊 Maybe not? In any case, it is a feeling I have felt, and a way I have moved through it. Seeing the beauty of all of our various quirks and quibbles. Focusing more on what I love about myself, and others.

My Second Vardhaku, is based on a wonderful experience I had the other day. Having been able to rescue two little Annas Hummingbirds. These little guys are residents who do not migrate, but who are indigenous hummingbirds of the region where I live.

Freedom Babies: Authors Photo

Feet

Tiny In Hand

Iridescent Gem

Hummingbird Dreams of Flying

The Blessings of Connection with Nature, reverence is our birthright

~

I was so surprised that she didn't immediately zoom away when I opened my hand, as this was not my first rescue. My skylight has often been visited, resulting in what I imagine feels like a nightmarish illusion. I had to encourage her out of her daydream, and recall her ability to fly away. It was truly a blessing, and an honour. To hold the trust of this divine little being in my hand.

Humbling, Inspiring, Motivating.

Finally my third Vardhaku~ (well so far)

By Jeremy Bishop on Unsplash

~

Oak

Druids Peace

Indigo Reflects

Forces of Nature at Play

The Earth meets the sky in an eternal loving embrace.

~

Now, in these Vardhaku, I have adhered to the 1,3,5,7 Syllable, Ten Word form of Vardhaku. It was challenging and inspiring. Also very expansive in it's minimalism. A wonderful exercise in refinement that I cannot thank Cendrine enough for sharing.

Now I will practice the mirror form of Vardhaku and compose three more, using,

1,3,5,7 Words and Ten Syllables...

Stay tuned for my explorations of haiku inspired pareidolia, The Pareiku.

In what will become, I hope an extensive study of poetry, language, and the human experience.

You can find Cendrine and all her wonderful creations here

Thank you for Reading my foray into Vardhaku, if you enjoyed my work you can find my profile here

nature poetry
8

About the Creator

Sarah St.Erth

BC Born activist, Mother & Grandmother. Raised in Music and counter culture. My Pen name is an ode to my matrelineal lineage. Sign up for Vocal plus here

https://vocal.media/challenges/the-vocal-fiction-awards?via=sarah-wareing

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    These were so beautiful!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.